Offshore Wind Innovators Unveils 2017 Award Winners

Offshore Wind Innovators announced the Offshore Wind Innovators Award 2017 winners at the Netherlands Offshore Wind Q-meeting organized by Siemens and Van Oord on 6 December.

Jules Dock has won the jury prize with its Lightweight Composite Tower, while ECE Offshore’s OASYS system was voted the public award winner.

The jury, consisting of Bert Stuij (RVO Sustainable & Climate subsidy programs), Ernst van Zuijlen (GROW) and Bart Blokhuis (PDENH), reviewed the projects based on innovativeness, social and economic impact and entrepreneurship, Offshore Wind Innovators said.

The jury said that Jules Dock’s Lightweight Composite Tower becomes an essential element in the pursuit of cost reduction and has a potential positive influence on all phases of offshore wind farms, from construction to installation.

The jury also emphasized that because scale tests have already been carried out with knowledge partners, the project’s (technical) credibility is increased.

After the pitch of the three finalists, the audience voted with around 130 representatives from the offshore wind industry and announced ECE Offshore with the OASYS system as the public award winner.

ECE Offshore shows that OASYS has real market potential as it is already operational, the jury said, adding that the innovation demonstrates social relevance because the system contributes directly to cost savings.

The winners receive a mentorship from an industrial party and a result-oriented workshop entitled “The next business challenge”. The nominees will also act as speakers during the Offshore Seminar on 15 February 2018.

Photo: Image source: Offshore Wind Innovators